Back to Start Have a devilish xmas
Click For IATDE News Click to Find Our History This Is How We Kept Ourselves Out Of Prison The Folks We've Dealt With Use Your Ears & Eyes Helping Us Helping You Have A Word Show Your Face Piccies Galore Show Your Tweetie Bird
   - 600 Miles From... CD (iatde023)
Hitechjet - 600 Miles From...
1. (I Should Have Left You At The) Roadside
2. 200 Miles From...
3. Making Movies
4. Floods
5. Princess Syndrome
6. The Perfect Video
7. This Lift Goes Down
8. Monument
9. Statues
10. Every Passing Minute
11. If My Best Is Not Enough
12. See 20:20
13. As Though Nothing Happened
Be The First To Leave A Comment On 600 Miles From...
Price -
Barcode - 5024545356229

'600 Miles From' is Hitechjet's debut full length album. Life's journey isn't always straight forward. Their journey was all of the above but they arrived at a destination full of optimism. '600 Miles From...' was recorded, engineered and produced by long time cohort John Hannon over 6 weeks at the end of 2004.

13 tracks combining punk, hardcore, indie, rock and lo-fi cast in their own inimitable style. Hitechjet have a wonderful knack of writing great tunes and bringing the past, present and possible future of rock/post hardcore/indie etc together, managing to develop a multi layered musical and vocal assault, helped by the amazing production shown on this record.

This five piece of genre shatterers have crafted an album of monolithic proportions in '600 Miles From.', Flooded with emotions, heart and passion, they've captured lightning ina bottle and poured it over a CD, all neck popping vocals, buzzsaw guitars, technical drum patterns and thunderous bass, taking elements of Dinosaur Jr, Shellac, Jawbreaker, Leatherface and Dag Nasty and knitting the end result into a brand new patchwork.
Hitechjet Band Page

Big Cheese 5/5
Brit hopefuls come back brighter. At the penultimate moment of 'This Lift Goes Down' frontman Brain Ayers sings: 'and now we change these ways'. It's an oddly fitting line to describe the progression from 2003's 'If You Take Anything' to '600 Miles From...'. Mixing the gruff punk of Hot Water Music and Small Brown Bike with the punchy emotions of Sunny Day Real Estate. Hitechjet (who take their name from the '99 Red Balloons' song) have hit on a striking sound all of their own, one which blooms from the speakers from opener '(I Should Have Left You At The) Roadside' and leaves you disappointed its done with the closing 'As Though Nothing Happened'. Fresh, furious and loaded up on bare passion, Hitechjet are perhaps the most promising UK band right now. Fact.

Zero Tolerence 5/5
'Is this the shit that's supposed to knock our socks off? So starts of the first full album from Uxbridge 5 piece Hitechjet. First look at the cover of this cracking cd and I presumed we had the next greatest export from the good ole US of A.Everything about this release reeks of pure class. It's been a while since I've been this impressed with a debut album from a new British act. The power, passion and controlled aggression are evident through all 13 songs - no fillers here. They seem to have shoe horned in the best of bands such as, Jimmy Eat World, hundred reasons, Bad Religion, Lost Prophets and made their own sound. Brian the vocalist seems to have a range reminiscent of Cory from Slipknot - one minute he is screeching, screaming and growling like a banshee, then when they slow things down for the acoustic 'The Perfect Video' the guy can really sing. If you were looking for a single, then I would choose the radio/MTV friendly 'Making Movies'. Listen, Hitechjet want to take you on a journey - this has got everything...brutal vocals, great hooks, sing-along chorus's, punk attitude, indie feel and commercial success stamped all over it. Apparently they absolutely shred live as well and have already supported such acts as Kasbian & Million Dead. 'Jumped in the car and join them on their ride'

Rocksound 8/10
Now that Hot Water Music have finally hung up their guitar straps for an indefinite hiatus we can all live out our gruffed-voiced fantasies and call it influences rather than imitation. Enter Uxbridge quintet, Hitechjet: a band whose melodic, grit-gargling assault on their debut album proper throws up one passionate wig-out 'Statues' after another 'If My Best Is Not Good Enough' - songs that stand proud despite having their influences emblazoned on their lapels like medals. And when they ease off the gas, they're equally adept at constructing introspective indie-pop gems like 'See 20/20'. Unusually '600 Miles From...' Saves all the best songs for the latter half of the disc, which, in the vinyl flipping old days, would have meant that the B-side was better than the A-side. So for best results, start from the end and work your way back.

Punktastic 4.5/5
HTJ are a band that I've kept close tabs on since their first demo through to this, their debut album. The band's last release 'If You Take Anything' was a mini-album which showcased just how diverse this band can be and it left me itching to hear what they could pull off on a full length - to say I was merely fulfilled would be a massive understatement. The 5-piece from West London formed on the premise of not being restrained by genres and scenes in their writing style and it's certainly something that's more than paid off as '600 Miles From' is an album which nods in one direction then launches off in another, failing to sit still for more than a minute but without ever sounding forced or even slightly disjointed; a definite sign of a solid release if ever there was one. The thirteen track album kicks off with the powerful 'Roadside' with Brian's commanding and authorative vocals juxtaposed against a punishing snare drum before the guitars come blazing in with a stonking dirty rock riff. The track is short and sharp but gives you an idea of what's to come; aggression, melody and generally an intelligently written collection of songs which showcases some brilliant musicianship. As I suggested in the first paragraph, HTJ are band to which diversity is no stranger; the band switch from their harder influences in tracks like 'Statues' and 'Every Passing Minute' with their soaring guitar lines and balls out vocal efforts to chirpy guitar pop in 'Monument' and 'If My Best', a pair of songs which contain more melodies than you can shake a stick at. Although there are no dud efforts on here at all, (which is an achievement for an album that's just under an hour in length in itself) there are a couple of real gems I haven't yet mentioned: 'Making Movies' is one of the best songs I've heard all year without question; I dare you not to become addicted to it for if the guitars weaving in and out of each other beautifully don't get you itching the chorus is will certainly have you hooked as it's pretty much to die for. The album's epic closer 'As Though Nothing Happened' is what the band have been ending their live set with for a while and leaving crowds picking their jaws from off the floor, as it is simply a modern rock behemoth in waiting; it just sounds so massive you can't help but feel dwarfed by it. HTJ demonstrate a more low key side in the middle of the album which again shows not only how diverse the band can be but how well they can execute it too. It's hard to believe it's still the same voice that virtually tears your ears apart on one track and is barely more than whispering on the next. There also seems to be a slight concept built into the album perhaps based upon a horror B-Movie. if you take a quick glance at the artwork, lyrics and samples on some songs; it's a nice touch and just shows a lot of thought has gone into making every element of the album. I won't beat about the bush anymore; buy this fucking album. It's essential. It's vital. It's a definite contender for album of the year.


Store Info